Although India has extended its embargo on international flights until 30 September, « air bubbles » or « air bridges » are the only means by which international commercial air traffic has resumed since mid-July. Since then, India`s number of air bubbles has risen to 13, with Japan the last country to be on the list. Air Canada will fly between Toronto and New Delhi on Saturday and the first flight will return on Tuesday. In July, India first built travel bubbles with the United States, Germany and France. Since then, India has entered into agreements with 10 other nations – Britain, Canada, maldives, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Nigeria, Iraq, Afghanistan and Japan. The Ministry of Civil Aviation has added other destinations to the list of countries where Indians can fly. The air bubble agreements with 13 countries have been concluded, said Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri, tweeted. On August 15, an air bubble between India and Canada will be put into service, with the domestic carriers of both countries aiming to bring commercial passenger transport back to the pre-pandemic level. Both countries immediately introduced the air bubble, and the Canadian government last week requested authorization.

« It contributes to the comfort of Indian and Canadian citizens, » said Indian High Commissioner in Ottawa Ajay Bisaria. All airlines are allowed to sell tickets between India and the countries concerned in any direction via their websites, distributors and global distribution systems. Other nations with which India has signed an air bubble agreement are the United States, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, the Maldives, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Afghanistan and Bahrain. And while flights to and from India are limited by the COVID 19 pandemic, the Indian government is best able to manage the Vande Bharat and Air Bubble mission operations. Air bubble chords are temporary and reciprocal. Such regulations will also enable group members to reconnect with each other and stimulate sectors such as travel and tourism. The Baltic countries, Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia, were the first to create an air bubble that allowed free travel between themselves while limiting external people. The Air Bubble Agreement is a bilateral air corridor between different countries to ease travel restrictions imposed by different countries because of coronavirus.

Despite the ban, India was one of the first nations to begin repatriating stranded Indians as early as May. Soon after, Air Bubbles was created to make travel easier. Meanwhile, the Canadian government, through its High Commission in Delhi and its consulates in India, also flew 41 repatriation flights, but these were chartered. Air Canada returns to India after almost five months. Although the current provision of three flights per week between Delhi and Toronto is not listed until the end of August, it is expected to be extended. « Transport bubbles » or « Air Travel Arrangements » are temporary agreements between two countries that aim to resume commercial passenger transport when scheduled international flights are suspended as a result of the COVID 19 pandemic.